Welcome to Madison County. Named forJames Madison, fourth president of the United States, Madison County, was organized under act of General Assembly of Georgia, December 11, 1811. It was the 38th county formed in Georgia and began to operate as a county in 1812. Madison County formed from Oglethorpe, Clarke, Jackson, Franklin and Elbert counties. Historical sites include the Watson Mill Bridge, William Bartram Trail and the Birthplace of Crawford Long. Madison County is a nature lovers dream, the vast majority of Madison County is located in the Broad River sub-basin of the Savannah River basin, with just a very small portion of the county's western edge located in the Upper Oconee River sub-basin of the Altamaha River basin.